The Birth of Our Club
The Rotary Club of Parkwood was chartered on 31 August, 1993. The presentation of the Charter took place at Parklands on 9 October, 1993.
Past District Governor Keith Robson presided for the dinner as in his year of 1992/3 the formation of the Club had been planned.
The welcome was given by Kevin Fitzpatrick, President of Southport North Rotary Club (the sponsor Club for Parkwood) and presentation of the Charter was made by the District Governor at that time, Bob Baldwin.
Past President Rob Deshon of the Southport North Rotary Club was the District Governor's Special Representative for the Charter of the new Club and his tireless efforts to assist in every way possible is well remembered by members. 
The members of the Club at the time of the Charter were as follows:
Werner Apelt   Janne Barlow     Mike Bottomley    Father John Boughton    Ted Brandli
Alan Dawson    Pat Dooley    Jason Dragos     Jim Fairweather    Villi Grdovich
Carl Halls     Debra Harris    Tom Harrison     Bob Johnston   Jon Kneeves
Phil Leck    Ken Nelson    Lyn Nelson    Paddy Nicholls    Jenny Pearce
Greg Raeburn    Col Reinhardt    Peter Richards    David Rolle    Hiram Ryan
Bill Sandford     Steve Sizmur     Doug Thomas    Heather Tinsley    Rex Waddington
Juanita Warren    Debbie Whiley        
Since its formation the Club, through the dedicated service of members, has implemented many useful programs in all avenues of Rotary service.